From the Fish’s Belly

Originally posted on Salvoes in Faith:

Couldn’t do as ordered

Couldn’t bear the shame

Prophesy their downfall

In Jehovah’s Name.

What if they repented?

Proved that I was wrong?

Not this prophet, never

Then their laughing song.

Hit the open waters

Running from His call

Soon my disobedience

Worked to harm them all.

Stormy waters raging

Ship was tossed and turned

They were all a-quandary

Til my folly learned.

Didn’t want to toss me

Finally they gave in

Served me to the sea god

Justly for my sin.

Barely touched the waters

Came the mighty beast

Took me in my stupor

Lesser than the least.

Am I dead or breathing?

I have been so vain

Might I plead for rescue

Speak your Word again?

Might I know your mercy

Spreads to Ninevah’s worst

Raise me from this sheol

End my guilt and thirst.

“They that observe lying vanities forsake their own mercy.” (Jonah 2: 8)

Doug…

View original 3 more words

One thought on “From the Fish’s Belly

  1. Hebrews 10:31
    “It is a fearful thing to fall into the hands of the living God.”
    2 Corinthians 5:11
    “Since, then, we know what it is to fear the Lord, we try to persuade others. What we are is plain to God, and I hope it is also plain to your conscience.”
    Luke 12:5
    “But I will show you whom you should fear: Fear him who, after your body has been killed, has authority to throw you into hell. Yes, I tell you, fear him.”
    Hebrews 12:29
    “for our “God is a consuming fire.”
    Hebrews 3:12
    “See to it, brothers and sisters, that none of you has a sinful, unbelieving heart that turns away from the living God.”

    (i can copy and paste right along with the best of these cracked pots!
    But when you’ve sold-out/compromised, the authority is no longer present in them to rebuke but is given into the hands of “fools made wise” to exercise “the least…”).

    Genesis 42:6
    “6 Joseph was the ruler of the land. He was the one who sold grain to all the people of the land. And Joseph’s brothers came and bowed to the ground in front of him.”
    Matthew 13:12
    “For whosoever hath, to him shall be given, and he shall have more abundance: but whosoever hath not, from him shall be taken away even that he hath.”
    2 Samuel 21:7
    “But the king spared Mephibosheth, the son of Jonathan the son of Saul, because of the LORD’S oath that was between them, between David and Jonathan the son of Saul.”
    Of course some basic bible knowledge is in order else how would one know what to look for, it would be like feeling around blindly in the dark.
    But guess what…that is exactly what The Holy Spirit does for us/in us “EQUIP!”
    I don’t kill myself to memorize every bit of scripture I read…I just read and trust, with very little or none memorized.
    Matthew 10:19
    “But when they hand you over, do not worry about how or what you are to say; for it will be given you in that hour what you are to say.…”
    Wait…I’m not done yet!
    Then there’s also this…
    Luke 16:19-31King James Version (KJV)
    19 There was a certain rich man, which was clothed in purple and fine linen, and fared sumptuously every day:
    20 And there was a certain beggar named Lazarus, which was laid at his gate, full of sores,
    21 And desiring to be fed with the crumbs which fell from the rich man’s table: moreover the dogs came and licked his sores.
    22 And it came to pass, that the beggar died, and was carried by the angels into Abraham’s bosom: the rich man also died, and was buried;
    23 And in hell he lift up his eyes, being in torments, and seeth Abraham afar off, and Lazarus in his bosom.
    24 And he cried and said, Father Abraham, have mercy on me, and send Lazarus, that he may dip the tip of his finger in water, and cool my tongue; for I am tormented in this flame.
    25 But Abraham said, Son, remember that thou in thy lifetime receivedst thy good things, and likewise Lazarus evil things: but now he is comforted, and thou art tormented.
    26 And beside all this, between us and you there is a great gulf fixed: so that they which would pass from hence to you cannot; neither can they pass to us, that would come from thence.
    27 Then he said, I pray thee therefore, father, that thou wouldest send him to my father’s house:
    28 For I have five brethren; that he may testify unto them, lest they also come into this place of torment.
    29 Abraham saith unto him, They have Moses and the prophets; let them hear them.
    30 And he said, Nay, father Abraham: but if one went unto them from the dead, they will repent.
    31 And he said unto him, If they hear not Moses and the prophets, neither will they be persuaded, though one rose from the dead.

    On judgment day I don’t think we’ll be handed number two pencils given a time limit and tested by multiple choice on our Bible knowledge.

    Do I seem wiser to anyone now?
    Anyone impressed?
    Is my prowess showing?
    Seem more knowledgeable?
    Superior in any way?
    Are there lumps on your head from being bludgeoned by my Bible?
    is anyone impressed by what I was able to copy and paste?
    People…GET REAL!
    To hell with the pretense!
    JESUS is all you will ever need!
    Believe in Him and be “prepared” and “equipped”

    Thanks be To God,
    All Glory be To God,
    In Jesus’ Holy Precious name Amen.

    Anthony/Oneagleswings

Leave a Reply

