In the Spirit

Painting by Ron DiCianni

It hasn’t come
And I’ve been praying.
Yes you know I poured
My heart out, night and day
And the sweating
And the crying
Were distraction;
As if I had no clue
Just how to pray.
And I thought
This must be time
For spirit’s groanings
Could I just abase myself
And let it go?
Yes the scripture said
If I knew not
The real solution
I might pray in tongues
The mind of God to show.
And no sooner
Had I yielded
To the urging
As some words emerged
From quite beyond my ken
That I sensed
A power larger
Than my problem
And a discourse
High above the forms of men.
Now the answer didn’t
Come just for the asking
But a peace
Beyond all hoping
Surely did.
You were there
Aware and full of consolation
And your child
Beneath your caring hand
You hid.

3 thoughts on “In the Spirit

  1. Thank you. This one is a message the Church needs to hear. I sat down an hour ago with nothing in particular on my mind. I thought a struggling prayer story would be helpful, and the Spirit led me to this. Understand that in 1983 I fought the message of tongues as something ridiculous and missing the real mark of prayer and supplication. Desperation, which came quickly to the new convert, taught me otherwise. Now I will pray with the understanding, and I will pray with the spirit (1 Corinthians 14: 15)

Leave a Reply

