And We Are a Spectacle

121032

And we are a spectacle

Coming last in the triumph

Of godless land-grabbers.

We wear animal skins

And sad countenance

While crowds on either side

Laugh and jeer.

“He trusted”, they say.

“She swore by her God.

Hah, God on this carnival day!”

And the music grates the senses

And the clowns’ grotesque smiles

Reek of perversion.

While we cry

Remembering Via Dolorosa

And the short-lived

Shame of our King.

He had it in Him

To despise the shame;

To look beyond

And climb the stairs

Of noble destiny.

So shall we.

Even now the costumes of contempt

Are dropping off

The fetters loosen.

Some from the sidelines

Even join our Cause.

And the King is surely up ahead.

Hallelujah.

(Image by Ron DiCianni)

7 thoughts on “And We Are a Spectacle

  1. Okay, I get this…good insight and direction. Beautiful message…being a spectacle is a “norm” for me, has been for some time. A much despised spectacle at that, but not by anyone who professes to Love The Lord. But I am asking you for straight talk devoid of allegory, metaphor, I don’t have a mentor at hand, a brother to offer some sound advice. I know where to go for encouragement, in the Word or inspirational words and I’ve seen and heard much more than I am at liberty to even comment on because frankly, it’s still being processed and change waits for no one. Yes there is the obvious “go to” maybe i’m being told to reach out to someone and that now is the time. Maybe, just maybe, this is as much for you as it is for me. Maybe you are my “go to” guy, I just recently parted ways with a so called “Reverend”, He was about as much a “Reverend” as I am a nuclear physicist! And mind you, I don’t usually engage in long e-mails with just anybody due to the fact that I type with one finger. My index finger is significantly shorter now, i’ll have you know. Date: Sun, 27 Oct 2013 02:10:14 +0000 To: gomezpopi@hotmail.com

  2. I have written a poem here about the mistreatment Christians receive at the hands of the majority crowd who are prisoners of the worldly norm. You are going through your significant portion Anthony. I was not addressing any other very pressing personal considerations now on your table.

  3. no sparks at all…talk is better some times I guess. all is well between us:) From: gomezpopi@hotmail.com To: comment+pgbyxkek2739-ij4z5kj_oq@comment.wordpress.com Subject: RE: [New post] And We Are a Spectacle Date: Sat, 26 Oct 2013 22:29:29 -0400

    Okay, I get this…good insight and direction. Beautiful message…being a spectacle is a “norm” for me, has been for some time. A much despised spectacle at that, but not by anyone who professes to Love The Lord. But I am asking you for straight talk devoid of allegory, metaphor, I don’t have a mentor at hand, a brother to offer some sound advice. I know where to go for encouragement, in the Word or inspirational words and I’ve seen and heard much more than I am at liberty to even comment on because frankly, it’s still being processed and change waits for no one. Yes there is the obvious “go to” maybe i’m being told to reach out to someone and that now is the time. Maybe, just maybe, this is as much for you as it is for me. Maybe you are my “go to” guy, I just recently parted ways with a so called “Reverend”, He was about as much a “Reverend” as I am a nuclear physicist! And mind you, I don’t usually engage in long e-mails with just anybody due to the fact that I type with one finger. My index finger is significantly shorter now, i’ll have you know. Date: Sun, 27 Oct 2013 02:10:14 +0000 To: gomezpopi@hotmail.com

  4. Ohhh…oops, I get it now, this is about Halloween?! From: gomezpopi@hotmail.com To: comment+pgbyxkek2739-ij4z5kj_oq@comment.wordpress.com Subject: RE: [New post] And We Are a Spectacle Date: Sat, 26 Oct 2013 22:29:29 -0400

    Okay, I get this…good insight and direction. Beautiful message…being a spectacle is a “norm” for me, has been for some time. A much despised spectacle at that, but not by anyone who professes to Love The Lord. But I am asking you for straight talk devoid of allegory, metaphor, I don’t have a mentor at hand, a brother to offer some sound advice. I know where to go for encouragement, in the Word or inspirational words and I’ve seen and heard much more than I am at liberty to even comment on because frankly, it’s still being processed and change waits for no one. Yes there is the obvious “go to” maybe i’m being told to reach out to someone and that now is the time. Maybe, just maybe, this is as much for you as it is for me. Maybe you are my “go to” guy, I just recently parted ways with a so called “Reverend”, He was about as much a “Reverend” as I am a nuclear physicist! And mind you, I don’t usually engage in long e-mails with just anybody due to the fact that I type with one finger. My index finger is significantly shorter now, i’ll have you know. Date: Sun, 27 Oct 2013 02:10:14 +0000 To: gomezpopi@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

