Bless the Rod

Prophet Joel by Michelangelo

Did I not send the quaking earth?
Did I not send the storm?
Did I not send the hostile band?
Tearfully, bring the harm?
All for the hope to call you back
Back to my law and love
Back to the harmony of right
Just as I have above.
But you would flee to other gods
But you would miss my reign
But you would have the chaos come
Ending in dearth and shame.
Still I will call for better ways
Still I will urge a fast
Still I will send the Saviour Babe
Mine is a love that lasts.

Leave a Reply

