Derek

H’lo Derek’s de name

Werkin’ here at d ‘Ome

Old folks, loik dem Old folks

‘Ney seem to loik me

Roon stuff fo’ dem

Byes ’em lott’rey tickets

Combs dare ‘air

Coots dare nails

Makes ‘em smile.

They’s a lonely lot

Stare’n at dem walls

Lessen I can get ‘em into checkers

Or a picher book

Or some such.

Hannah, she’s a peach

Managin’ Ordely

Pretty she is, in a ploompish way

No boyfren’ ta speak oove

She says I makes he’ laff

An’ she’s so gentle with dem folks

A Princess, dats what she is

Widout no palace.

Toosdays we go pubbin’ an’ laffin.

She sticks oop fa’ me.

Joan doid dis afternoon

Dear Joan, one of my favritts

I stroke her hair – she liked dat.

Dead now.

Like me Mom in many ways

Told me “kindness” is magic

Don’t be smart

Don’t be good lookin’

Be kind Derek, she said.

Spent a coopla minutes at her bed

Sayin’ gubye.

Sayin’ sorry fer tings I broke

Or stuff I mixed up

She’s dead…too bad.

Scuse me fer dese tears.

Gotta go. Me mate Duggie.

He’s de caretaker

Tells me’s time ta head ‘Ome

To our Apartment.

Seeya roond mates.

I always coom back

Love it here – love da job.

Note: This may give you a feel for the unusual British television series “Derek” starring Ricky Gervais. His portrayal of a gentle, handicapped Man Friday in a Seniors’ Home is uncanny. My son Jordan alerted me to this gem. Said he didn’t know what to think at first.

http://www.moviecricket.com/message-ricky-gervais-derek-69581/

http://youtu.be/Hd5WdxGRNG8

Leave a Reply

