Who I Am

Take me to your Word, Lord. Do not allow me to pat myself on the back, saying, “Oh yes I remember this passage. It means thus and so. How good to have this thing nailed down”. Such an attitude toward the Book of books only robs me. Rather I must approach the oracle with fear, a holy respect, saying what NEW thing do you have for me here, today, Father? Show me who I am by Grace; who I am, pathetically, if I allow the flesh or pride to have sway in the midst of this. Beget in me new life in such a fashion. There is distance yet to be traveled.

Sadly, our society reads less and less. We watch videos and tweet and Wikipedia. But if we lose our predisposition to open the Bible and READ, we lose this quickening effect. For example, friends have told me that the feature Gospel film “Son of God” lacks power, and it is for this very reason. The Devil gains points if he can stop us from reading.

21 Wherefore lay apart all filthiness and superfluity of naughtiness, and receive with meekness the engrafted word, which is able to save your souls. (James 1: 21)

Leave a Reply

