Listening, Finally

 

Listening, Finally

For years I let the jangle

Fill up my ears with noise

And things that seemed so precious

A useless pack of toys.

When all along the Saviour

Was whispering from behind

With words of comfort, rescue

To free my heart and mind.

But circumstances pushed me

And fear of men held sway

And old routines still bound me

With just no time to pray.

Until a certain crisis

Without the means to cope

And all the paths of mortals

Quite destitute of hope.

Yes, then His voice came louder

As I was wont to hear

My Friend so close, neglected

Spoke faith into my fear.

And Jesus healed my deafness

With mercy’s strange alloy

My new delight to listen

His Voice my crowning joy.

One thought on “Listening, Finally

Leave a Reply

