Come, However

Streets of pain

And days of sorrow

Sent to make us strong.

Knotholes, wringers

All those shadows

Living brings along.

Come to know

He went before us

All the worst to feel.

Struggling prayer

And Hilltop anguish

Such to Christ most real.

Still He hears

And in great pity

Sends a comfort’s word.

Still and small

And breathing rescue.

Sweetest note I heard.

Come, yes come

Dear Elder Brother

Yours the path to choose.

All leads Home

With great rejoicing.

Not one sheep you lose.

5 thoughts on “Come, However

  1. “Behold, all ye that kindle a fire, that compass yourselves about with sparks: walk in the light of your fire, and in the sparks that ye have kindled. This shall ye have of mine hand; ye shall lie down in sorrow” (Isa. 50:11).

    What a solemn warning to those who walk in darkness and yet who try to help themselves out into the light. They are represented as kindling a fire, and compassing themselves with sparks. What does this mean?

    Why, it means that when we are in darkness the temptation is to find a way without trusting in the Lord and relying upon Him. Instead of letting Him help us out, we try to help ourselves out. We seek the light of nature, and get the advice of our friends. We try the conclusions of our reason, and might almost be tempted to accept a way of deliverance which would not be of God at all.

    All these are fires of our own kindling; rushlights that will surely lead us onto the shoals. And God will let us walk in the light of those sparks, but the end will be sorrow.

    Beloved, do not try to get out of a dark place, except, in God’s time and in God’s way. The time of trouble is meant to teach you lessons that you sorely need.

    Premature deliverance may frustrate God’s work of grace in your life. Just commit the whole situation to Him. Be willing to abide in darkness so long as you have His presence. Remember that it is better to walk in the dark with God than to walk alone in the light. –The Still Small Voice

  2. “Supermoon”, What you said…exactly! How come I can see it and not say it the same way? And I can say it how I know how and you hear it, how it was meant to be heard. This is exactly what I am saying in “Supermoon” but it comes by way of a “feeling an experience,” make any sense? But You are able to see it for what it Truly is and means! Until I read this I did not fully understand the poem, it was written nearly a year ago and yesterday I found a rough draft under a piles of bills. It had been lost for months. I was soooo…happy to see it again! And for this offering too! Doug that’s why I don’t hold anything back no matter how it may sound to me…He is able to do as He Wills with it and it is all good!

    “Remember that it is better to walk in the dark with God than to walk alone in the light. –The Still Small Voice”

    I will remember this.

  3. I am having a third serious episode with mental illness at close range. The fears and judgments and allegations from a Beloved are without foundation…but unshakable. Argument only arms Slewfoot’s camp. A new kind of silence sets in because conversation has become cyclical or ridiculous for a significant part of our time together. Familiar, self-justifying thought patterns and phrases that pop up as if from a different person and corral the range of our engagement. Then they may be just as easily forgotten. This Other’s trust in me has just about disappeared…Doug

  4. The down side of the last 19 years:
    Round One: “I can hardly be out and about all these wicked people. They even wait at stoplights to mutter under their breath how I am a “whore, false prophet and backslidden”. They bug my house. They ogle at our intimate times. They laugh and joke and increase their ultimate judgment. I even walk the streets warning them at all hours.”

    Round Two: I am the Bride of Christ. I hear his angels. They comfort me. Sure I am losing weight. That’s why I went off those terrible pills among other reasons.”

    Round Three: I’m going to tell it to you straight Husband. I know about your adulterous affair. You even want to marry her and dump me! You need to repent and stop this abuse. God is angry, and I am His prophetess.”

Leave a Reply

