Unfettered

Lynn Pearcey is a regular participant in our Reading-Discussion Group. She operates from a wheelchair. She is a poet of extraordinary honesty and hope. (This is a re-blog from 2011)

Healing

I was clever
wasn’t I
to build a wall
so high
to hide
a wounded heart
that time could not heal?

Until

I looked around and listened
and saw
the sun
still shone
and life went on.

And

Others too
were hiding
wounded hearts
that time alone will heal

And

We too will laugh again someday.

Cats and Books and Hopeful Images

Twice

Could we live twice?
Once,
Stumbling and trembling
Stains on our knees, and mud on our fingers
and doubts looming like shadows,
over all too small dreams,
and then again,
free.

If I could live twice,
I’d
alter the stance and the breadth of my world,
replay all the scenes with the knowledge of now,
change all the fragments and shards of my life,

Except one,
the thing within me that chose you for a Friend.

Untitled

My heart still aches with sadness
and secret tears still flow.
What it meant for me to lose you?
No one will ever know.
When the days are sad and lonely,
and everything goes wrong

I seem to hear you whisper
“Cheer up and carry on”.
Each time I see your picture,
You seem to smile and say
“Don’t cry, I’m only sleeping
We’ll meet again some day.”

(Lynn Pearcey, Kitchener, ON)

 

Leave a Reply

