Stop That Buzzing!

Back in about 1985 I attended a three-day meeting featuring Evangelist Reinhard Bonnke at Cobo Hall, Detroit. Early in one of his messages the sound system acted up with irritating buzzing. He tried to get through patiently while technicians scurried. At last he stopped and asked the assembly to pray with him. That lion’s voice pleaded for the help of God and rebuked the devil and this interference. The buzzing stopped completely. One could hear the incredulous murmering of the crowd. ‘It stopped, it really stopped’, they whispered. The evangelist could sense it, and his face registered deep disappointment.

Here was a man who let prayer arrows fly in Africa against thunder storms, wind storms, crazed shamans and violent tribal agitators. And God would answer. But Detroit hardly had the ammo to come against an amplifier or two.

That City has a great Gospel media machine. It has had to go through immense financial setback and population loss. But back then it was fat and self-satisfied, churches included.

I sense that even then Bonnke knew the antidote…much suffering, much pleading, much waiting, much anointing, much authority. This is proving to be Africa’s path to spiritual power and deliverance.

Undoubtedly prayer warriors throughout North America are importuning “Crush us Lord, crush us for sake of the Harvest, for sake of the Glory”.

All talk of revival short of this fact will be proved to be pointless.

Psalm 32: 4-7

For day and night thy hand was heavy upon me: my moisture is turned into the drought of summer. Selah.

I acknowledge my sin unto thee, and mine iniquity have I not hid. I said, I will confess my transgressions unto the Lord; and thou forgavest the iniquity of my sin. Selah.

For this shall every one that is godly pray unto thee in a time when thou mayest be found: surely in the floods of great waters they shall not come nigh unto him.

Thou art my hiding place; thou shalt preserve me from trouble; thou shalt compass me about with songs of deliverance. Selah.

Lion of Judah: many summers I would hear the lions roar at the Detroit Zoo

http://momentsmidstream.blogspot.ca/2012/02/with-christ-among-miners.html

Leave a Reply

