Help Meet

An excellent post accompanied by thoughtful honest exchanges in comments. Commendable soul searching for truth and exploration of issues faced by every Christian woman.
It is my humble privilege to reblog this post for The Lord has seen fit to place such a helper “help meet” in my life beyond anything I could ever have earned, deserved, hoped for, or foreseen and I am most grateful!
Anthony

Light & life

pinterest

I had the word “helpmate” thrown at me the other day by a woman who was schooling me in my “biblical” role as a woman.  I did not bother to debate her, however, since I had already laid out my viewpoint and she was deaf to it.  Any further pearls tossed her way would likely be trampled.

But, since the word “helpmate” is still being used, erroneously, let’s deconstruct:

The Lord God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone.  I will make a helper suitable for him.”   Genesis 2:18

The word for helper here is the Hebrew word ‘ezer.  It is the same word translated as help in the following Psalms:

Psalm 33:20:  We wait in hope for the Lord;
he is our help and our shield.

Psalm 70:5  But as for me, I am poor and needy;
come quickly to me, O God.
You…

View original post 554 more words

Leave a Reply

