Not So Macho

I’m oh so afraid to be broken

All teary-eyed, cringing and spent

And troubles arrive by the bus-load

I know now just what a friend meant

He told me how pain proves a blessing

And shows “self-sufficient” a lie

I’ve yanked and I’ve pulled at these problems

It’s time to give prayer a try.

I don’t really know what is proper

Except that I pour out my heart

And God if you’re really that caring

You’ll bear with this faltering start.

But something has clicked deep inside me

And words seem to flow like a spring

And somehow I know you are present

And willing to bear everything.

As if no one else were sufficient

Or knew what exactly I meant

You counsel to think upon Jesus

And doors open as I repent.

2 thoughts on “Not So Macho

Leave a Reply

