He Has Him

mountains of Israel

She was a store manager at a beloved Gospel bookstore in town. Active member of a local Pentecostal church. Always willing to talk, and with a gracious smile.

Discoveries from helpful portions of scripture could always be shared and without embarrassment.

One day my friend really opened up. Her husband had not been following her in her faith walk. He gave her space on Sundays and was always otherwise occupied.

But apparently he had come up against the brick wall of a lay-off from his work. Many resumes sent out. Many pleasant interviews but nothing solid for this middle-aged man. He was humbled and re-examining everything.

The good news was that he had come to his wife and asked to pray about a number of things. He had even agreed to pray for salvation. The change was almost immediate. Her face was shining.

I told her that my wife Hilary had entered into the Kingdom about a year before me. Obviously there had been things about her lifestyle that she had firmly resolved to change. And she was true to that commitment, and delighting in prayer and in her Bible. She radiated a joy that I could not deny. There was little elbow bending. I was soon her brother in the faith.

Apparently this struck a chord with my friend. Much had been similar. But she was concerned that the unemployment thing could prove hazardous or dampening.

For some reason my thoughts went directly to Hebrews 13: 5,6 and almost involuntarily the words came forth.

Her husband had the Lord. Something unshakable had arrived. Time would heal the job issue. Her husband now had new invaluable equipment. I was so thankful for the urging of the Spirit in this exchange. The woman seemed helped and hopeful.

This is what we do as believers. It is the foot-washing process (John 13). It must resort to the very words of scripture. And they move mountains.

Do you note that I did not make reference to hasty favour, comfort or solutions. I went one step higher.

Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.

So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me.

Leave a Reply

