The Day the Hating Died

He lived across the street, he did
A realtor, family-man
A Baptist with a constant smile
And I would hate that man.
Just didn’t seem so sensible
But all he did was wrong
The wave at night
The comments right
The hope I’d come along.
Not over-much on Gospel talk
Just shining with a glow
That shaded things inside of me
Were terrified to know.
My jokes were crude
At his expense
I longed to see him fall
But rise he did
With wife and kids
And Christ his all-in-all.
I hated more
This side of me
That choked at righteousness
He meant no harm
A firm right arm
Who wanted just to bless.
Dale played a part
That changed this heart
And turned a life around.
I shook his hand
And hugged God’s man
Before I left his town.
Leave a Reply

