Shameless

Excellent !

Light & life

A blogging ally commented on my last post with a link.  On the other side of the link was a series of clips from a talk on addiction and shame.  Boy do I wish I had internalized those concepts 25 years ago.  I wish every parent and parent-to-be had them ingrained in their brains and tattooed on their hands.  Even as I write this post, I am pondering how I might incorporate them into the parent workshop I will be giving next month.

The speaker in the clips, John Bradshaw, talked about toxic shame, shamelessness and healthy shame in the context of the family.

But my mind extrapolated it to the church:

“Healthy shame is permission to be human.  It lets you make mistakes.  A [healthy] family [is one] that has a rule that allows people to make mistakes and understands that mistakes are occasions for learning.”

“If you live in…

View original post 803 more words

Leave a Reply

