Contend for the Faith

He said it, Jude

One chapter’s worth

And noble did it seem

To take up arms for doctrine’s sake

With unity the dream

So can’t you just believe like me

For long I studied firm

Quite clear the package seemingly

But you friend, make me squirm.

I know you name the name of Christ

I know you love the Cross

I know you lean on Spirit’s help

I know you suffer loss

For clinging to your closest Friend

When all the world turns sour

You trust the blood, a cleansing flood

You know forgiveness’ power.

That is enough to bind the cords

I put away my blade

I’m here for you, a Brother true

Forgive the rift pride made.

And timely this, your friendly call

To me, deluded know-it-all.

 

Leave a Reply

