Paths of Righteousness

cefda7b055_93571156_o2

He leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Do I know what those paths look like?

Can I catalogue them for recall as and when required?

Does He disclose a handful of them at a time that I might have options or wiggle room?

No…no…no.

This thing is an organic relationship with the Good Shepherd. Day to day. I must follow closely. Hear the beatings of His heart. Expect the announcement of “this way” or “no, not here…not yet”.

And my Lord Jesus intends to be that close, if I will allow. If I steep myself in the Gospels. And come to Him in prayer over every little thing. I have the time for this. Only fear, impatience or unbelief would say “hurry, hurry”.

Let me never forget that He and I are in covenant. He has a vested interest in my well-being and in my right standing for His name sake. He does not issue slick provisos like some contract lawyer. He is my good and trustworthy Elder Brother. He will be there for me.

This adventure becomes a delight. In truth, I would not wish to know in advance the eventualities of the morrow. (*As my friend Anthony has said there will be a marvelous and humbling “unfolding”. See comment below.)

Many pulpiteers would seek to train us with a long inventory of ready-made solutions, strategies or standards. They do a dis-service. They forget Psalm 23.

 

8 thoughts on “Paths of Righteousness

  1. This message got me up in the middle of the night. The following morning I had an emailed video to review from Anthony Gomez. I had first received it last spring. It addressed a disagreement that we had and it showed a kind of obedience in my friend to God’s leading that I did not understand. The post above bears an uncanny resemblance to a part of his message. I watched all 44 minutes of it again with much blessing and peace. How did I ever get to meet this amazing guy, Lord?

  2. I watched that video yesterday as an outside observer, I was very moved by it and at the end in tears.
    Given a bit of time and space it’s amazing the effect…I watched as I spoke and could not believe it was..? Shook me to the core it did, the reminder was for myself as much as anyone else!
    “He leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake”
    Even when we don’t know or understand where He is taking us…Yes Siree! A puzzle piece being masterfully placed, maybe just a piece of sky, background, a few blades of grass not exactly the main feature, but a piece of the whole regardless of how plain, ordinary or mundane the missing bit might seem to any one of us. An incomplete picture without the minutest of pieces that will stand out if the final piece to a puzzle is not in place the absent form supercedes any attention the almost completed picture is given.
    a.g.

    1. I don’t have time to watch the video now (my family is waiting for me to make them pancakes), but I will watch it later. For now I just want to say I love the analogy of the puzzle piece masterfully placed. The hub and I just completed a really tough jigsaw puzzle and I know exactly what you mean.

  3. I love this:

    “I must follow closely. Hear the beatings of His heart. Expect the announcement of “this way” or “no, not here…not yet”. And my Lord Jesus intends to be that close, if I will allow.”

    It reminds me of one of my favorite verses:

    Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.” Isaiah 30:21

    Only better: “Hear the beating of His heart.” Love, love, love that.

    Thank you for a beautiful start to my Saturday morning.

Leave a Reply

