Buddies Peer Into Prayer

252I began pondering why and how my thoughts took shape this morning, I hadn’t been thinking of anything in particular save for thanking God for so many wonders and provisions blessings and grace.
Aside from meditating upon God my mind, as far as I was aware, was pretty much blank to the world.
I am beginning to actually hear him clearly but it is not like anything I could have ever conceived of or imagined?
There were occasions in the past, just a few or more, where a clear voice was heard but this is very distinctly different.
I could say an almost telepathic implantation but I don’t really believe that could be descriptive enough.
That “constant state of prayer” seems to always be running as if a background program in a computer intrinsic to every application actually being keyed in (autonomous)
just like breathing or a heart beating, nothing we can do about it. It just is…despite whatever we consciously do or are in the act of doing.
The only time I truly became consciously aware of the secret prayer life is when a sinful thought emerges that is anathema to it.
Then the awareness increases substantially into an awakening to address the attacks, whether from our own thoughts or external influences. (AG)

This is a wonderful development. Many Sunday mornings I would go to a
favourite university building with comfortable study rooms. Alone.
Students all sleeping off Saturday night. Much Bible Study. Before
much of the blogging. I felt convicted of absence of prayer. The
struggle began; the long painful lists; the forced effort. Then I can
remember the Spirit saying “What if you just got quiet and listened?”
It was then the real adventure began. The suggestions. The calm. The
road-map through a topic of scripture. The unanticipated words out of
left field. They were the real confirmation. No logical sequitor in my
thinking to get there. But they were God. Peter’s words come to mind
“Be ye stablished, strengthened, settled.” It seems to me AG that you
are addressing the settling part in prayer life. You will have much to
teach others there. (DB)

7 thoughts on “Buddies Peer Into Prayer

  1. “I could say an almost telepathic implantation but I don’t really believe that could be descriptive enough.
    That “constant state of prayer” seems to always be running as if a background program in a computer intrinsic to every application actually being keyed in (autonomous)
    just like breathing or a heart beating, nothing we can do about it. It just is…despite whatever we consciously do or are in the act of doing.”

    This pretty well describes my life with God, a constant running dialogue. I love Him.

    And what a lovely post. Thanks for letting others in on such a dear discussion.

  2. Nothing in AG’s communication amounts to stumbling, frailty or wool-gathering. It is good testimony and good teaching. Saw no harm in that. Just a good illustration of the naturalness of being “in Christ”. I do know the emails not to post. DB

Leave a Reply

