Sidewalk Cigarettes

Cold one last night

But at least mostly dry

The park was abandoned

No cops drove on by

But time for some new shoes

These cramp me like hell

Two sizes too small

But I couldn’t tell

Heard by the grapevine

That Jimmy has passed

Tough guy for the street life

We thought he would last

A lonely lot yassir

But free of the rules

That mess up the flophouse

They think we’re all fools.

Once found myself working

And pulling a cheque

The taxes and time clocks

Most left me a wreck

They knew I was different

And set me apart

And smirked as I checked in

Oh where was their heart?

The street least is neutral

And offers strange fare

I’ll pass by the bus hub

There’s lotsa smokes there.

Leave a Reply

